General Studies & Current Affairs for Bank, SSC, CLAT, Civil Services and other Competitive Exams

1.BHARAT NIRMAN:   It was implemented and etended in three phases i.e., from (2005 - 2009), (2009 - 2012), (2012- 2014)   It is...

Important Government Schemes In News 2013


  •  It was implemented and etended in three phases i.e., from (2005 - 2009), (2009 - 2012), (2012- 2014)
  •  It is centrally sponsored scheme for the rural development of India started in September 2005.

 There are 6 objectives in this scheme
a)  To provide all weather road connectivity to the village which have more than 1000 population in plain areas and 500 population in hilly areas.
b)  To bring 10 million hectares of land under irrigation facility and to make 1.4 million hectares of additional land for arable land (for the use of agriculture).
c)  To provide clean drinking water to all villages by the end of 2012 under Rajiv Gandhi payjal yojana.
d)  To electrify 1, 76,000 villages by the end of 2012 under Rajiv Gandhi Vidyutikaran yojna.
e)  To construct Pakka houses for BPL house- holds under Indira Awas Yojana (Now from April 1st 2013 cash assistance Rs. 70000 for plain areas and Rs. 75000 for hilly areas) previously it was Rs. 40000 for plain areas and Rs. 45000 for hilly areas.
f)   To provide telephone connectivity to all villages and all BPL holders by 2012.
g)  Note: All these objectives are extended till 2014.

2.JNNURM: Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission

 It was implemented and extended in two phases i.e., (2005 - 2012), (2012 - 2014)
 Started in the year 2005 to make million plus cities squatter (Slam area) free.
 There are 2 components
a)  To construct pakka houses for urban poor dwelling in squatter under Rajiv Awas yojana.
b)  To make transportation system faster and greener.

3.NRHM: National Rural Health Mission

It was started on 12th April 2005 to enhance the health facilities in rural areas.
The appointment of ASHA workers (Accredited social health activist) in Anganwadi Kendra to provide basic information on health and hygiene conditions as well as to guide people regarding conservation of water.

4.MGNREGA: Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act

  • It was on started on 2nd Feb 2006 to provide minimum 150 days from 1st April 2013 (previously its is 100 days) of employment to BPL house hold.
  • This scheme is both for Urban and Rural areas.
  • The old name of this scheme is NREGA and it was changed to MGNREGA on 2nd Oct 2009.
  • The wages under the scheme is fied on the basis of CPI-AL (Consumer Price Index for Agricultural Labourers) which is calculated by the state government on the basis of their Per capita Income.

5.UIDAI: Unique Identification Authority of India.

  • It was started in the year 2010 to provide multipurpose national identity card (MNIC) to every citizen aged above 5 years.  Its name has been changed to Aadhar.
  • Its model state was Karnataka (started)
  • The retinal identification is taken from the age group of 14 and above.
  • Scheme has 7 components like address, PAN no., Passport no., retinal identity etc, It consists of 12 digit number.  
  • Chairman: Nandan Nilkani

6.NFSM: National Food Security Mission

  • This scheme is to reduce the poverty in India under national social assistance programme.
  • Under Public Distribution System (PDS), government will provide rice @ Rs. 3/kg, wheat @ Rs. 2/kg to the BPL households.

7. IGNOAPS: Indira Gandhi National Old age Pension Scheme

  • This Scheme is for the people who aged above 65 years.
  • The amount of Rs. 400 per month (Central govt + State govt = Rs. 200 + Rs. 200) will be provided by both Central government and State government who aged between 65 – 80 years.
  • Rs. 500 per month (Central govt + State govt = Rs. 250 + Rs. 250) for the people who aged more than 80 years. 8.IGNWPS: Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme
  • The beneficiary is in between age group of 40-64 years in this scheme.
  • Assistance of Rs. 400 per month (Central govt + State govt = Rs. 200 + Rs. 200) will be given to particular person.

9.NFBS: National Family Benefit Scheme

Under this scheme a grant of Rs. 10000 is given in case of natural and accidental death of the primarily breadwinner of the family (he/she) of BPL households.


Under this scheme 10 kg of food grains are provided to BPL households free of cost every month. But for this scheme the particular beneficiary shouldn’t be registered with IGNOPS