April 03, 2014

Static & Legal GK MCQ 5 for CLAT 2014

1. Which article of our constitution deals with the amendment of constitution? 
a) Article 368 b) Article 352 c) Article 356 d) Article 360 

2. By which of the following Acts were the High Courts of Bombay, Madras and Calcutta established? 
a) Indian High Court Act, 1911 b) Indian High Courts Act, 1865 c) Indian High Courts Act, 1861 d) None of these 

3. Who was the Prime Minister of India when National Emergency was declared in 1975?
a) Indira Gandhi b) Morarji Desai c) Lal Bahadur Shastri d) Jawaharlal Nehru 

4. Who was the President of India when National Emergency was declared in 1975? 
a) Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy b) Fakruddin Ali Ahmed c) VV Giri d) Gyani Sail Singh 

5. What is the form of Government which is headed by an elected representative and a not a hereditary monarch called? 
a) Republican b) Democratic c) Presidential d) Parliamentary 

6. Which of the following is a Fundamental right? 
a) freedom of expression b) Right to Personal Liberty c) Right to move freely within India d) All the above 

7. Which of the following is not a Fundamental right? a) right to live b) right to freedom of religion c) right to contest an election d) right to equal protection under the laws 

8. Who wrote the National Anthem of India? 
a) Rabindranath Tagore b) Muhammad Iqbal c) Bankim Chandra Chatterji d) Mahatma Gandhi 

9. By virtue of which Act, did the British government take over the administration from East India Company? 
a) Act of 1858 b) Act of 1909 c) Act of 1919 d) Act of 1935 

10. The position of the President of India is comparable to
a) British Monarch b) US President c) Russian President d) German Chancellor 

11. Disputes regarding election to the posts of President and Vice President should be brought before 
a) Supreme Court b) Lok Sabha c) Rajya Sabha d) Election Commission 

12. A Bill passed by the Parliament has to be signed by 
a) Prime Minister b) President c) Cabinet d) Speaker What is the retiring age of the Judges of Supreme Court? a) 60 b) 62 c) 65 d) 68 

14. Who among the following has the right to take part in the proceedings of any committee of Parliament without being a member of it? 
a) Deputy Chairperson of Finance Commission b) Comptroller and Auditor General of India c) The Attorney General of India d) Election Commissioner 

15. From which of the following nations did we borrow the doctrine of judicial review? 
a) Great Britain b) USA c) France d) Switzerland 

16. Who is the leader of the majority party in the Lok Sabha? 
a) Prime Minister b) President c) Vice President d) Speaker of Lok Sabha

17. Under the provisions of which Article of the Constitution is President’s rule imposed in a state? 
a) Article 352 b) Article 350 c) Article 356 d) Article 360 

18. How many times can a person be elected President of India? 
a) two times b) three times c) four times d) no limit 

19. The President of India can be removed from office by
a) Parliament b) The Lok Sabha c) The Prime Minister of India d) The Chief Justice of India 

20. What is the normal term of office of the Prime Minister of India? 
a) five years b) four years c) six years d) no limit 

21. What is the minimum voting age in India? 
a) 18 years b) 21 years c) 20 years d) 25 years 

22. To be eligible for election as a member of Rajya Sabha a candidate must have completed what age? 
a) 25 years b) 30 years c) 35 years d) 18 years 

23. What is the number of writs that can be issued by the Supreme Court or High Court? 
a) 3 b) 4 c) 6 d) 5

24. Which of the following acts introduced diarchy as the form of Government at the provincial level? 
a) Govt. of India Act, 1919 b) Minto-Morley reforms c) Montague Chelmsford Reforms d) Govt. of India Act, 1935 

25. Which of the following events compelled Gandhiji to launch the Civil Disobedience Movement? a) Jalianwala Bagh massacre b) Chauri Chaura incident c) Rowlatt Act d) Failure of Cripps Mission 


1. Article 368 2. Indian High Courts Act, 1861 3. Indira Gandhi 4. Fakruddin Ali Ahmed 5. Republican 6. All the above 7. right to contest an election 8. Rabindranath Tagore 9. Act of 1858 10. British Monarch 11. Supreme Court 12. President 13. 65 14. The Attorney General of India 15. USA 16. Prime Minister 17. Article 356 18. no limit 19. Parliament 20. five years 21. 18 years 22. 30 years 23. 5 24. Govt. of India Act, 1919 25. Rowlatt Act

Current Affair -1st January-2018

1. Nepal Bans Solo Climbing on Mount Everest i. Nepal has banned solo climbers from scaling its mountains, inc...